NaNoWriMo – Alphyri edition

The written word has been too rare in my life recently. Writing or reading – I’ve barely made time to do any of it. This little blog has suffered a severe shortage of words and pictures since I’ve begun my jobs of teaching and nannying for the school year.

So I decided, why not do NaNoWriMo? National Novel Writing Month, for those of you who haven’t heard, where you write a 50,000-word novel in the month of November. I did it way back in 2008 and 2009, and won both times, and I remember having a blast. I want to get back into writing, into being creative again, and sometimes you just need to give yourself that little extra shove.

I also have this novel called Alphyri that has languished on the back burner for so long it should be obsolete. But it still captures my imagination. It deserves to be finished. So I am going to try to finish it, and then use whatever words I have left to start something new and fresh. Here’s the summary, to capture your interest:

Like a medieval fairytale you’ve never heard, Alphyri is the story of two people who both want something they can never have. Alphonzo is a prince, and yet he is not free. Phyri is a peasant, who has a strange promise keeping her from love – the one thing she longs for most. Strange traditions, hidden identities, and a manipulative King will entwine the course of their futures.

So here’s to more words – lots of them – in November.

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

Please leave a friendly comment below

